Dealing with Imposter Syndrome

Imposter syndrome is a psychological pattern in which a person has constant internalized doubts about their abilities and worries that they will be discovered as a "fraud."

It is often seen in high-achieving individuals who have a strong desire to succeed and a fear of failure. It can also be more common in certain fields, such as academia and the arts, where subjective criteria and high standards of excellence are often emphasized.

The truth is, anyone dealing with or having dealt with this is a genius, because imagine how smart we are for our minds to start playing doubt tests with us. It can get tough when starting something new. When I started my internship as a Frontend Developer i felt like I wasn't smart enough and my team mates were blessed with the ability to think logically and write clean codes, For a long time I felt like I was a fraud and my secrets would be revealed soon. It took a lot of patience and reframing my negative thoughts to combat it. Also, sharing my feelings with friends and family helped me gain perspective and feel less isolated.

Whatever the situation is, be patient with yourself, you wouldn't be dealing with imposter syndrome if you weren't a brilliant person with a zeal to succeed. It doesn't matter how long it takes or how confusing it may seem; understand your limitations, set realistic expectations, applaud your growth and achievements and be kind and passionate toward yourself. If none of my recommendations appeals to you and imposter syndrome is causing significant distress or interfering with your daily life, consider getting expert assistance.