Taking Risks / having a clear roadmap in tech - Dev Retro 2022

At the beginning of 2022, I was struggling with JavaScript and was convinced I wasn't smart enough to figure it out; giving up wasn't an option, so I chose a different strategy. I took a full-stack development course by Angela Yu on Udemy, and it was the best decision I made. She is an awesome tutor with the ability to demystify complex challenges. I was able to understand that Javascript is basically instructing the web to perform certain functions.

I figured it was time to study React when I was comfortable with my understanding of JavaScript, so I purchased a React course on Udemy and was completely baffled. I looked into different Frontend tools because the idea of props and state management was difficult for me to understand. Vue seemed to be the best alternative, so I bought a Vue course and built a few projects; it was a lot simpler to understand, and the concept of props was starting to make sense.

The moment I finished learning Vue and began applying for jobs, I realized that while Vue might be beginner-friendly, React was more popular and offered more job opportunities. This realization led me to give React another try, and this time it was different because I could see correlations to Vue and everything seemed more clear. Call it taking a risk or not having a defined plan, but that decision is the reason I am proficient with React and Vue today.

Having a clear roadmap is important because the internet offers a wealth of resources in tech and other fields, but it may get confusing, especially if you have a deadline. To utilize your time while transitioning to tech, I recommend researching the field and job requirements to prevent detours.